How I install Power BI into Ubuntu 20

How I install Power BI into Ubuntu 20

Hi all, something that was difficult to find in Google was: how to install Power BI with Ubuntu 20.04. I tried a lot of ways, but I just dit it after many tries. Below the steps that I follow:

sudo apt install virtualbox virtualbox-ext-pack

After I download the Virtual Machine from Microsoft site: developer.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/downl..

Option: virtualbox (is a big file, 18.4Gb) that's take a while.

After that we must import the virtual machine inside the virtualbox. That also will take a while. In my case I just not check the DVD and USB drives.

Screenshot from 2022-01-21 22-05-56.png

Time to Start the virtual machine, but wait, you will get an error, that's ok, you must restart your computer, let's do it.

Screenshot from 2022-01-21 22-16-37.png

Select Enroll Mock, put the password created when you install the Virtualbox.

Let restart our virtualbox and ...ops, other error again?! Now what? Yes, you must change the BIOS of your computer.

In my case was pressing all "F" until I opened the Boot Options, there you just need to Enable the Virtualization Technology, after that don't forget to save changes before exit.

Screenshot from 2022-01-22 09-56-12.png

  • !Important! * Probably you will need also to make some changing in the Setting of the Virtualbox:

Inside option System, change the Motherboard to have less Base Memory. Screenshot from 2022-01-22 09-59-22.png

And change the Processor to Enable PAE/NX (I not sure that you will need it, but I did). Screenshot from 2022-01-22 09-59-51.png

Now you can Start the virtual machine- VOILÁ, you did it, I hope that you can see the same then me. Screenshot from 2022-01-22 10-08-16.png

Last step is download Power BI desktop, I just hope (yes, I'm a hope guy) that your computer is faster than mine, open the Edge, login in your Outlook account, search and download....I'm on this step, but I think that the most difficult part is above.

Good lucky and let's go to make some analysis!